My interview with New York Times best selling author Marissa Meyer !

Published December 3, 2014 by mrsjennyreads

Recently, New York Times best-selling author of The Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer, granted me an interview via e-mail. Her latest book, Fairest (a bridge novel in the series between Cress and Winter) is due for release on January 27th, 2015. I was very excited about this interview because I love this series!

Here is the interview as follows:

1) Are you working on a new series?

Yes! I have both a stand-alone novel and a new series in the works. The stand-alone, called “Heartless” will be out in early 2016 and is inspired by the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland. The series – a trilogy – will follow that and is based on the gray areas between superheroes and supervillains.

2) Will there be any new characters in Fairest?

You’ll get to see some characters that have been hinted at in the main books – including the cruel Queen Channary, Levana’s older sister, and Winter’s father.

3) What is your favorite fairytale?

It’s hard for me to choose an ultimate fairy tale! I think it changes based on my moods. Sleeping Beauty was one of my top favs for a really long time – I love telling people about the bizarre elements of the older versions, when the prince impregnates Briar Rose, rather than kissing her! I also always loved Bluebeard because it’s so dark and eerie, and has more an element of realism that really haunted me growing up.

I look forward not only to Fairest, but also to Heartless and the trilogy that will follow it!

Thank you for your time, Marissa.

Leave a Reply

